Norfolk DUI Attorney
Accused of Drunk Driving in VA? Call (757) 267-6611 Now!
In Virginia, driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense comprised of both criminal and administrative components. As a a criminal charge, DUI can put you at risk of penalties including jail or prison time, fines, and more. As a serious traffic offense, it can also lead to a temporary or permanent license suspension that can seriously hinder your ability to commute to work, run important errands, or transport your kids to and from school. If you drive a commercial vehicle, you can expect even harsher penalties that may threaten your livelihood.
At Protogyrou Law, we understand how a DUI conviction can affect your freedom, pocketbook, insurance, job, and family. Our Norfolk DUI defense attorneys take your future seriously and are ready to provide you with the tenacious defense you need to pursue the best possible outcome.
Our firm handles the following types of DUI cases in Virginia:
- First DUI
- Multiple DUIs
- DUID (DUI with Drugs)
- Underage DUI
- Commercial DUI
- DUI with a Child Passenger
- DUI Vehicular Assault
- DUI Vehicular Homicide
Call (757) 267-6611 today to request a free consultation. Our Norfolk DUI lawyers have successfully handled tens of thousands of cases in Virginia.
Virginia Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limit
In Virginia, it is against the law to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08 percent. However, the legal limit for commercial drivers is .04 percent, while underage drivers (motorists under 21 years old) have legal limit of .02 percent.
What are the Penalties for DUI in Virginia?
- A first DUI offense is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum 12-month jail term, a fine not exceeding $2,500, and driver’s license suspension for up to 12 months. However, if your BAC was at least .15 percent upon arrest, then a conviction results in a minimum jail sentence of five days. If your BAC was more than .20 percent, then the mandatory jail term is 10 days.
- A second DUI offense is still considered a misdemeanor, but comes with more severe penalties. You could be facing one year in jail, fines up to $2,500, three years of license suspension, mandatory alcohol education and probation.
- If it is your third DUI offense, then you will be charged with a felony and could see up to five years in prison and permanent suspension of your license in addition to the standard DUI penalties.
What is Virginia's Implied Consent Law?
According to Virginia’s implied consent law, if you refuse to take a post-arrest breath test, it is considered a civil offense, punishable by license suspension for one year. A second refusal within 10 years is a Class 1 misdemeanor with license suspension for three years.
Field Sobriety Tests
If you are pulled over on suspicion of DUI, the officer is likely going to perform one of the three Standardized Field Sobriety Tests (SFST):
- Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) Test - In this test the officer will observe the eyes of the person in question as they slowly move a pen or small object back and forth to look for indicators in each eye that the person is impaired.
- Walk-and-Turn Test - In this test, the officer instructs the person to take nine steps in a straight line and the return back. The officer is looking for signs that the person is impaired such as not being able to keep their balance or not following the instructions properly.
- One-Leg Stand Test - In this test, the officer instructs the person to stand with one foot in the air and hold it for about 30 seconds. The officer looks for signs of intoxication such as swaying, hoping or using their arms to balance.
Fight Your Drunk Driving Charge with Protogyrou Law
Protogyrou Law has more than 100 years of combined legal experience fighting criminal charges of all kinds. With so much on the line, don't wait to get in touch with a DUI defense lawyer at our firm. We have the skill and resources it takes to guide you through the legal process, protect your rights, and pursue a favorable outcome to safeguard your future.
Call (757) 267-6611 for more information on how you can benefit from working with one of our experienced DUI lawyers in Norfolk.
Meet Your TeamTrial Attorneys Prepared to Win
Founding PartnerView Profile
The Protogyrou Law DifferenceWhat You Can Expect with our Firm
Great Relationships with Judges & Prosecutors
Unmatched Quality of Legal Representation
Powerful Team of Trial Lawyers
Experience Representing High-Profile Clients
Extensive Courtroom Experience
Hundreds of Thousands of Cases Successfully Handled